Notice: Constant DATE_RFC7231 already defined in /home-ro/goldenro/public_html/includes/bootstrap.inc on line 258
Procedure for Buying Property In The UK | Golden Roof Property Consultancy

Procedure for Buying Property In The UK


Warning: Due to work pressures in other areas of our lives, GRPC is not currently trading as a business. However, these website pages are being kept on the internet for the benefit of anyone who finds them useful. Please note, however, that the website is no longer being updated and the information contained in many areas of this site may no longer be correct because of legal and other changes. Therefore, readers should not rely on the information contained on this site - but should instead supplement their reading of this site with their own research and/or the taking of independent advice.

(This fact sheet is for guidance only and while believed to be accurate, it necessarily contains summary, opinion and generalisation. It should not be relied upon as a basis for entering into transactions without specific professional advice tailored to the precise circumstances of the client. This fact sheet is copyright to GRPC and should not be reproduced for commercial purposes without our permission. However, it may be freely used by way of link to our website or for private purposes.)

 

Introduction

 

Although the UK procedure for buying property and verifying legal title and structural integrity is not especially complicated by comparison to other countries, taking professional advice is still essential. Even highly experienced UK nationals investing in property would normally instruct an expert lawyer and surveyor to guide them through these aspects of the purchase. At GRPC, we work with experienced professionals (solicitors, expert property surveyors and others) who we use for our own property transactions, to ensure our clients get good advice.

 

There are 3 types of purchasing process typically seen in the UK:

 

The private treaty sale

This is the most common type of purchase process. The seller markets a property for sale and concludes a privately negotiated sale with a purchaser.

 

Auction or tender sale

Here the seller advertises their property for sale in an auction catalogue and the sale is achieved through a public bidding process in an auction room.

 

Off-plan purchase

Technically this is just a type of private treaty sale, but the process can be slightly different because the property will not have been built when the initial offer for purchase is made.

 

Whatever type of sale is involved, most of the features are the same. The explanation here concentrates on the normal private treaty sale method as used in England and Wales. (There are important differences to purchase procedures in Scotland.)

 

Step 1. Offer

The purchaser makes an offer for a property and, perhaps after some negotiation, a price is agreed between buyer and seller. Normally an estate agent will act as go-between, trying to bring buyer and seller together into a deal (though the agent acts for the interests of the seller, not the buyer). Even when the offer is accepted by the seller, it is not legally binding. The buyer could still walk away from the process without legal liability. However, most buyers will not deliberately walk away at this stage as it is a waste of their time and money as well as everyone else’s.

 

In a normal private treaty sale, no deposit is paid at the offer stage. However, when buying off-plan, a developer would usually ask for a deposit, which may be quite small, for example £1000 (10,000 yuan).

 

The law does not require the seller at this stage to disclose any details about the property to the buyer other than its energy efficiency. However, the estate agent’s sales details must by law be accurate, though this accuracy really only applies to what they do say, not what they don’t say. Thus, there may still be quite a lot that the buyer doesn’t yet know about the property at this stage and the next stages of the process are therefore designed to increase the level of disclosure to the point where the buyer can safely enter into a legally binding purchase (subject to professional advice).

 

With auction sales, the procedure is quite different at this stage. When an offer (a bid in the auction room) is made and is successful (because it is the highest and exceeds the seller’s minimum price), the offer is legally binding . Unsurprisingly therefore, auction property sellers normally make available more information at this early stage, such as proof of title.

 

Step 2. Obtaining a survey (and a mortgage offer)

The surveyor will report on the structure and condition of the property and highlight any defects. There is no legal obligation for the buyer to obtain a survey. However, where the purchase is partly paid for by a mortgage, the bank will normally require a survey to be commissioned at the buyer’s expense. Provided the survey highlights no serious problems, the buyer’s lawyer (solicitor) will now go into action to investigate the legal title of the property and the bank (if there is one) will issue a formal mortgage offer to the buyer.

 

Step 3. Investigating the legal title

The buyer’s solicitor examines the legal title to the property as shown at the UK Land Registry. This will record the current property owner and the nature of the legal interest available for sale (freehold or leasehold), as well as a plan of the land which is actually included in the sale. The Register will also record whether there are any special restrictions on the property which might have negative consequences. The solicitor will also make searches of the local council to ensure that there are no planning issues within the vicinity of the property which may affect its value, such as the imminent construction nearby of a large and noisy road, or factory.

 

Step 4. Exchange of contracts

Assuming the examination of title and local searches did not produce any major concerns, the solicitor for the seller and buyer draw up a contract of sale. The terms and conditions are mainly in standard form. Once these contracts are “exchanged” (in practice these days there is no exchange as such), both buyer and seller are legally committed to the purchase. It is normal at this stage for the buyer to pay between 5 and 10% of the purchase price as a deposit.

 

In auction cases, the exchange of contracts takes place at the time the successful bid was received.

 

There is an exchange of contracts process in off-plan sales too, but the time specified to reach that stage after the offer was made will usually be quite short compared to pre-built private treaty sales.

 

Step 5. Completion

In most private treaty sales, there is a period of approximately one month between exchange and legal completion, when the sale is finally complete and the full purchase monies have been paid. This period is designed to give the buyer time to prepare to take possession of the new property (for example to buy furniture for it) and for any bank involved to arrange for the loan monies to be transferred to the buyer’s solicitor, from where it will be sent to the seller’s solicitor and then onto the seller. The new owner’s title is then registered with the UK Land Registry.

 

In off-plan purchases, there may be a stage between exchange and completion when the buyer visits the property now that it is hopefully fully-built, or very close to completion, to check that it is free of defects. Buyers maybe wise to bring with them a professional surveyor or building consultant to spot any defects which might only be visible to experts. The objective is to get the developer selling the property to rectify these defects before legal completion of purchase.

 

In auction sales, there is normally a strict 28 day gap between when the bid is accepted and when completion takes place. Auction sales are therefore the fastest way to purchase a property but, perhaps for that reason, the most risky way to purchase.

 

Most private treaty sales take about 3 months between offer and completion. Sometimes they can take a lot longer if there are complications.

 

How safe is the process?

 

By international standards, the process for purchasing property in the UK is very safe. Money is handled by the solicitors and instances of fraudulent misappropriation of funds by them are very rare. Where they do occur, the professional body for Solicitors (to which all Solicitors must be a member) would compensate the defrauded party out of an insurance fund.

Also, instances of attempted fraud by the seller are very rare but where, for example, a seller attempts to sell a property that he does not legally own, checks by solicitors would normally pick this up. In rare cases where it is not picked up for some reason, compensation schemes run by the Land Registry are likely to apply.

 

In some countries, there are reports of people paying large amounts of money to buy off-plan properties which are never actually built, perhaps because it was a complete fraud or because the developer went bust. While such risks do in theory apply in the UK , instances of outright fraud seem extremely rare. The great majority of new building projects are started by well-known large developers with a long track record. Furthermore, deposit monies are usually held in trust against possible company failure. The answer to the risk, as always, is to instruct diligent professionals to act for you and where possible, to buy from well-known developers with a good commercial history.

 

With regard to latent defects in the structure of the property, the level of safety is more in the hands of the buyer. It is up to the buyer to engage professionals, such as a surveyor, to make detailed structural checks before purchase. In the case of newly built properties, nearly all developers offer a 10 year guarantee underwritten by the National House Building Council, who can provide compensation for any latent defects that the developer fails to put right.

 

Finally, in some countries, there are stories of arbitrary and retrospective law making which might, for example, have the effect of seriously undermining the value of a property purchase. Again, instances of this type of problem in the UK seem rare and this is greatly assisted by powerful human rights laws (which protect property interests as well as other rights) and a powerful and fully independent judiciary.

 

In summary, with all the right checks and diligent professionals acting for you, buying property in the UK should carry a very low risk of fraud or other serious error compared to other countries.

 

We retain close links with trusted legal advisers used by us for our own property transactions, who we can be recommend for our client’s property purchases.

Notice: Constant DATE_RFC7231 already defined in /home/goldenro/public_html/includes/bootstrap.inc on line 258
英国购房三种交易方式及程序 | 英国金鼎(国际)房产置业投资顾问公司

英国购房程序


 

特此声明:由于房产顾问们在其他领域日益增多的工作负荷,英国金鼎房产公司目前暂停接手客户业务。欲咨询免费英国房产相关内容,欢迎以邮件方式与我们取得联系, 或者登录新浪微博给我们公众号(英国房产投资网)留言。我们将保留原官方网站的全部网页内容,希望可以继续为欲求在英国房产投资的客户们提供信息资源。 但希望读者特别注意,网站信息于20158月起暂时不再更新,因此,请读者不要依赖本网站所载的信息, 建议查看和参照最新法律和政策的相关规定,通过多渠道补充阅读,最后做出个人判断。

 

 

(温馨提示:本英国购房程序指南仅是您选择购房区域的参考,公司的专业人员将为您量身提供更全面的咨询服务。我们建议您在听取公司专业人员意见后再作购房决定,请勿将本指南作为您在英国购买房产物业的唯一标准。本指南为金鼎(国际)房产置业投资顾问公司(GRPC)版权所有,未经本公司同意不得转载或用作其它任何商业用途。)

 

 

简介

 

在英国购房的程序与房产过户的手续并不比其他国家复杂,但寻求专业房产投资顾问的帮助还是极其重要的。 即使是很有经验的英国本地购房者也会在买房时寻求专业律师和房屋评估专家的协助以完成房产交易。我们金鼎置业顾问公司,协同专业的律师,房屋评估团队,共同确保我们的客户获取及时准确的房产投资的指导和建议。

 

在英国,传统的房产交易方式主要有三种:

 

私人协约式出售

这是最常见的房地产交易方式,当房地产买卖双方对交易价达成一致后即可开展交易程序。

 

拍卖或竞标式出售

此类交易,卖家在拍卖会前打出拍卖广告,在拍卖会上买家通过竞价方式确立最终的交易关系。

 

期房出售

严格的讲, 这只是私人协约式出售交易的 一种特例。因为商品房尚未竣工,出售的程序可能略有差别, 无论是哪一种出售交易方式, 买房的具体步骤基本是相同的。这里着重解析在英格兰和威尔士,私人协约式交易的详细过程(在苏格兰,购房过程有所不同)。

 

第一步:协商房价

买家对选中的房产出价,经过与卖家的反复协商,买卖双方敲定最终成交价格。房屋中介一般会从中撮合,以促使交易达成(但房屋中介是站在卖家一方的立场, 而不是买家)。 在这个阶段,虽然买卖双方在房产价格上达成一致,但交易还不受法律保护,购房者根据自己的意愿可以自由终止房产交易的进行。但除非必然,多数购房者都不会在这时采取这种浪费自己和他人时间的损人不利己的行为。

 

一般以私人协约式出售的房产,在讲价阶段不需要交押金。 但如果是购买期房,开发商通常会索要一笔数量较小的定金,大致1000镑(1万人民币)左右。

 

在出价阶段,房屋中介所提供的任何关于房产的描述必须准确(但仅限于中介向购房者展示的信息)。根据英国法律,除了房屋节能性能的信息以外,卖家没有义务向买家提供任何房屋细节。因此,关于所选房屋,买家一定还有很多不知道的方面,这些都会在接下来的几个购房步骤中逐渐分晓, 直到最后依法签订合同。

 

通过拍卖竞价购买房产,第一步有很大的不同。在拍卖会上一旦竞价成功,落槌定案后,便等同签订了买卖合约。自然,房主会在拍卖会之前提供比私人协约式买房时更详细的房产资料。

 

第二步:房屋评估鉴定(及贷款申请)

房屋评估鉴定师将对房屋的建筑结构,目前状况和安全系数等做出详细的报告总结。对房屋做评估鉴定并不是买家必须采取的买房步骤,但如果房屋是通过银行贷款购买的,银行通常会要求买家出示房屋评估鉴定书。如果鉴定师认为房子没有大的严重问题,买家的律师将进入下一步去调查房产的合法所有权;而银行(如果准备申请贷款)将正式办理相关贷款手续。

 

第三步:查证房屋所有权的注册登记档案

买方律师在国家地产登记局(UK Land Registry)查证该房屋所有权的注册登记档案是否属实。这里的登记档案记录了目前房产的所人,房产土地所有权的性质(是永久产权房还是土地租借产权房),以及房屋周边土地归属的具体划分。登记档案还会记录此房产是否在法律上存在任何特别限制,这些限制可能会对房产价值产生影响。买方的律师同时开展对房产相关背景的全面调查,包括从政府部门收集该房产所在地域环境,排水系统和未来建筑规划等方面的信息,调研可能给房产带来负面影响的客观因素,例如是否靠近嘈杂的马路或工厂等。

 

第四步:签署合同

如果房屋的注册登记档案和房产实地背景资料都没有大的问题,买方和卖方律师将着手起草房产买卖合同,合同条款内容都按照规定有章可循。双方一旦签署了合同,房产交易就将受到法律保护。通常买家会在此阶段向卖家支付房价的5~10%做为押金。

 

如果是通过拍卖购房的,一旦竞价成功,落槌定案,就相当于买家卖家签定了购房合同。

 

期房的购买也需要签署合同,与购买已经建成的房屋不同,购买期房通常是在价格协商完成后即签署合同。

 

第五步:房地产交易的完成

绝大多数私人协约式交易的房产,从签署合同到最后的交易完成,即交付房款,通常需要1个月的时间。在这段时间里,买家一般会为新房做准备(例如为新家添置家具等);银行也会利用这段时间把购房者申请的贷款转账给买方律师,最终经过卖方律师,进入卖家的账户。买家的名字也会随后记录在国家地产登记局(UK Land Registry) 的注册登记档案里。

 

购买期房时,从签署合同到最终房产接交之间可能会隔很长时间。这段时间内,特别是房屋将近竣工时,买家可以到工地勘察房屋是否按标准建成。有经验的期房购买者,这时会邀请房屋评估鉴定师同行,以及时发现建房缺陷,这样可以督促房地产开发商在竣工交房之前弥补建筑上的不足。

 

以竞拍方式购买的房屋,通常从竟价成功到最终房产交接必须在28天内完成。因此,通过这种方式购房速度最快,但往往因为其时间上的紧迫性,这种购房方式的风险也最大。

 

绝大多数私人协约式的房产交易,一般从最初的价格协商到最后的房屋交接需要3个月的时间。如果中间环节出现延误,则整体交易时间相对延长。

 

买房的交易过程安全吗?

 

按照国际标准,在英国买房的任何一个环节都十分安全。以下列举的在房产交易过程中可能出现的欺诈行为与风险,在英国几乎不存在。

 

    1)交易金的挪用

在英国,购房款始终是由买卖方的律师经手,而律师私自挪用资金的案例几乎为零。即使此类事情发生了,英国律师协会(每一个律师都是其中的成员)有义务补偿买家被骗取的资金。

 

    2)房产注册登记不属实

在英国,房产卖家操作的欺诈案例很罕见,例如房产卖家不合法拥有所售房产, 买方律师应该在国家地产登记局(UK Land Registry)查证该房主的注册登记档案时就可以发现。即使没有发现,国家地产登记局也有相应对买家经济上补偿的相关政策。

 

    3)期房骗局

在某些国家,曾有类似报道称买家花巨资购买期房,或因为售房本身就是个骗局,或因为开发商破产导致期房始终未交工,从而使买家蒙受损失。理论上讲,在英国买房也要承担此类风险,但现实中英国发生期房欺诈的实例极为罕见。一方面因为大部分的新建楼盘都是由实力雄厚的老牌大型开发商承办。另一方面因为押金一般由第三方信誉公司保管,以防开发商不能兑现承诺。对于降低风险的最好答案就是专业的置业团队的协助,从知名老牌开放商的楼盘中挑选心仪的房屋。

 

    4)房屋质量问题

所购房屋有没有潜在的建筑缺陷,完全取决于买家在购房前是否聘请过专业的房屋评估鉴定师去排查可能存在的不安全隐患。对于新建的房屋建筑,几乎所有的开放商都会提供10年的质量担保。一旦房屋质量有问题,房产开发商又解决不了的, 国家房屋建筑理事会( National House Building Council )会承担相应责任。

 

    5)相关法律条例的变更

据报道,在某些国家,有些新修法律条例严重影响了房产投资的价值。然而在英国就完全无须担心此类问题, 这要部分归功于英国有完善的人权法律条例和公正独立的法律机制,从而强有力的保护了买家的房产权益和其他相关利益。

 

总之,在专业人士的协助下,在英国买房的交易过程是极为安全的。对于有兴趣在英国置业投资的客户们, 希望我们英国金鼎置业的专业团队与精心挑选的各行业专家顾问们可以有幸助您一臂之力。